Madrid Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.2
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  3.2
 Total  3.1

"Best Hostel you will ever stay in"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dan M. of london, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 30, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if can get over its appearance and lack of facilities you will find the best spot in barca.
great location, greta staff, if you meet juan or oscar they are legends. Oscar's a friend of the people who own the apartment they rent, he the only one who can speak english, playes the kazoo and makes bracelets for a living. if you like pro evo there is always a game on.

i wouln't really be arsed to write a review. im not a keeno, but this place, top draw.
good if you wana meet new people, genuine, cheap loads of stories loads of character safe as you like.

been back twice, only place 2 stay./

"great location"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Manica K. of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed:   August 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location, not expensive

"A little bit scary"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Melissa L. of NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   August 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
room was a shoe box, bathroom was filthy, toilet was gross, location was excellent, oscar was really funny. do it only as a last resort or if you're a grug.

"Not quite legal!"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Nikki S. of Queensland, Australia
Reviewed:   July 18, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you are looking for a cheap bed and don't mind noise, dirt and strangers in your bed...this is a great place to start. We only stayed 2 nights here when we first arrived in Barcelona, It is very hard to find as it is actually in an upstairs apartment. The dorms are in the three main rooms of the apartment. One dorm has 4 beds and the other has 8 bunk beds. There is a common dining room with one internet computer. There is a kitchen...with limited utilities. There is only one bathroom and one toilet for all guests to share! The bathroom and toilet are absolutely filthy...the bathroom had green mould on the bottom and all along the sides (wear your thongs!). The toilet and kithcen were preeety much the same...DIRTY! The three people managing the hostel stay awakw playing loud music all night and then just laze around and sleep all over the place (on the lounge and in the beds) all day. My fellow traveller got out of his bed one night and when he returned the 2 of the managers (the young couple) were sleeping in his bed! He had to wake them up and ask them to get out. On the third day I moved to a more establish hostel (Hostel Biares) where they informed me that the Kilpparis is not a registered hostel and is in fact illegal! No real surprise there. You honestly share one toilet, shower and internet computer with 26 other people...not fun waiting in line. Money wise it was ok...18 euor per person per night. In all honesty it would only suit someone who could REALLY rough it out. I recommend paying 5 euro more per night and staying at the very nice Biares Hostel...just 10 meters down the road. You have all been warned :)

"worst hostel ever"

User Rating:  1.1
Reviewer:   Marian S. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   June 13, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
kilppari hostel is the worst hostel i've ever stayed in and i've been to quite a few hostels already. the location yes, is just in the middle of the gothic area--- it's only advantage-- but you will have a hard time looking for it. we booked a room for 4 people but on our second night (we couldn't change because all other hostels were fully booked) they added in 2 extra beds, one of which was occupied by a couple. the state of the room is a total mess as well. i think also think the bathroom and toilet have not been cleaned in ages. we also had a problem on our second morning because they locked off the batroom area so we couldn't even use it. we hurriedly checked out of the place and i think it's the best move we ever did in barcelona. so if you are going to book this place, good luck!

"surpriese"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Nazarii G. of Benewa, Ukraine
Reviewed:   May 21, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
hostel is difficult to find, becouse all are sleeping in the day. true to call in all balls. but it's has a good position in the city. Diego is a good man and very hospitable, but in this hostel is not breakfast. a big noith till morning, but if you are tired you can sleep :). as for it was cool, and prise is good too.

"Take this opportunity!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Emily L. of Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewed:   May 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My two friends and i are university students and so we have a very small budget. This place was great deal! At first, we were looking for the place and we seemed to be at the correct address, but there was no sign of the hostel. Two doors down we found another hostel and went in but it was not the right one and they weren't actually aware that there was one two doors down. We eventually decided to buzz this apartment building when we saw some other young ppl come out of the building not speaking spanish. They buzzed us in and we headed upstairs, all of us feeling a little hesitant. We were greeted and shown around the hostel which is really more of an apartment with several bedrooms converted into dorm rooms. We were a little worried when our room wasn't cleared out yet, but the workers were very friendly and made us feel comfortable enough to leave our stuff in the room while we went to explore the city. When we returned our room was cleaned up and we felt very comfortable in the place. The staff are really great! We stayed there for about 4 nights, and I would absolutely go back! This place is awesome for location, price, friendly staff, no security problems. You have access to a kitchen, which we really enjoyed. Our experience here was similar to a "couchsurfing" experience because the staff made us feel so at home.

"Kilppari Hostel is a nice place"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Myrto Z. of Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed:   May 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
it is cheap so it is a great place to sleep if you travel low-budget. It 's not something very fancy, more like a very large appartment, where you can mingle with everybody else in the kitchen and the living-room. But this is exactly the fun of it. And a great location too.

"Very good located"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Andrzej J. of Bedzin, Poland
Reviewed:   May 4, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice hostel with ambience. Very close to city center. You dont have to get out to feel Barcelona's climate.
I recommend it.

"So much fun!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Samantha O. of Minneapolis, MN, United States
Reviewed:   April 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had such a blast at this hostel! Be prepared, it is basically a big apartment so you will see the other guests all the time and its very laid back. No towels included but you have access to everything a normal house has. I had a great cultural experience there since alot of the guests were Spanish or at least spoke Spanish fluently. Its definately for those who are looking to have a good time and party. Great location too!!!


1 - 10 of 20 reviews  Next 10 results




MadridInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us